As a licensed commercial truck driver, you must obey certain federal and state laws. Your commercial driver’s license (CDL) can be suspended if you commit a major violation or several minor violations
In California, there is a possibility of losing your CDL temporarily or permanently depending on the violation. State laws differ on what types of violations are considered major, serious or minor.
What is a major violation?
Committing a major violation in California may get your CDL suspended for a full year. If you commit a second major violation, you may have your license permanently revoked. Examples of major violations are:
- Drinking alcohol and driving
- Being under the influence of an illegal substance
- Disobeying implied consent laws
- Fleeing the scene after being involved in an accident
- Continuing to drive a commercial vehicle after receiving a suspension
- Being involved in a fatal accident
What is a serious violation?
If you commit a serious violation for the first time, there is no disqualification. If you commit a second serious violation in a three-year period, you may receive a 60-day CDL suspension. Serious violations include:
- Speeding at least 15 mph over the legal limit
- Tailgating the vehicle in front of you
- Driving erratically or recklessly according to California law
If you are a commercial driver and worried about having your CDL suspended, it may be in your best interest to speak with an attorney. They will be able to explain your options to you. Additionally, they may be able to help minimize any potential penalties or fines you could face.